Millionaire’s shortbread

So I have bodged some Millionaire’s shortbread. I think I was having one of those days where nothing would go right. And before I talk about it I would just like to provide evidence that I can make Millionaire’s shortbread:

Millionaire's shortbread
It is irrelevant that this picture is from 2012.

I made it for a Eurovision party (let’s face it, no one thought I was cool before I said that anyway) and it went down a storm –  I have friends who now ask for their birthday and Christmas presents to be cake. I would also like to remind readers that our hob has two temperatures – off or volcanic.

So now I have established my defence, this is what my first attempt at caramel looked like:

Don't dwell on this hideousness for too long.
Don’t dwell on this hideousness for too long.

I sent this picture to my sister who said, “It scares me a little”. I think that is fair. I walked to the shops and bought another tin of condensed milk.

After that failure, I think I chickened out of letting the caramel thicken enough on the second go. I knew it wasn’t quite right, but at least it wasn’t inedible. I made an attempt at swirly decorations on the chocolate and put it in the fridge.

Millionaire's shortbread.
Doesn’t look horrific.

I had to use a hot knife to cut it into pieces, and it made the caramel very gooey on the sides. But it does taste right – I can say that at least.

Millionaire's shortbread - gooey.
Edible.

Because it has been kept in the fridge, it is all holding together well. I’m not going to revisit this for a while – in no small part because if you can’t give it away, it is a heavy calorie burden in a family where throwing away food is a sin.

 


2 thoughts on “Millionaire’s shortbread

Leave a comment